Texas Paid-Training Routes

Texas Jobs That Pay You While You Train

“Paid training” is used to mean at least four different things, and two of them can put money in your hand while you learn. This page separates them, then names six Texas programs whose own published pages identify a paid training phase — with the pay figure where one exists, a plain note where none does, and exactly what each page does and does not say about employment. Of the six programs, three state in their own words that the trainee is an employee. Another three do not use that word but publish terms that only apply to an employee — a full-time classification, enumerated benefits, or a wage for the training period. No page in this set is described as employing a trainee on evidence weaker than that.

📅 Sources checked 11 September 2026 📊 Texas wage data: BLS OEWS, May 2025 ⏱ 36 min read Published
Short Answer

By structure rather than employer goodwill, the routes that pay you an actual wage while you are still learning are the ones where you are an employee: a Registered Apprenticeship, an employer trainee or helper job, an agency-employed cadet post, or a carrier that hires before licensure. The wage comes from the employment, which is why every one of them depends on being hired first.

Six Texas programs support that claim on their own pages. Two Austin police and university police cadet routes, a Houston firefighter/EMT trainee post, a Central Texas registered apprenticeship across seven trades, an Austin-area nurse residency, and a Dallas–Fort Worth electrical apprenticeship that publishes an actual starting wage of $20.33 an hour. Each is set out below with its status, its terms and its source date.

Carrier CDL training sits apart, and the terms vary by carrier. Some cover tuition without paying wages during the classroom and range phase; some hire trainees as employees and pay through part of the licensing process; some reimburse after hire. All three exist. Before signing anything, confirm in writing when employee status begins, what each phase pays, and what becomes repayable if you leave.

Where CDL Driving Fits, And Where It Does Not

Every program named on this page pays a wage while you train, and a self-funded CDL course is the case that does not — unless a carrier hires you first. Commercial driving is the route this site knows most about, so here is the balanced version early rather than buried at the bottom.

What it has going for it. The Texas median for heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers is $56,290 in the BLS May 2025 state estimates, above the $48,620 median for all Texas occupations, and it places 153rd of the 515 Texas occupations this site ranks below a bachelor’s degree — above average, not near the top. No federal rule sets a course length, so instruction is measured in weeks rather than years, and BLS assigns the occupation no work experience in a related occupation. Some carriers hire and pay before licensure.

What it asks of you. The license is not the job: Finishing a course is not the same as being able to work. Testing, licensing, employer screening and in some cases a medical certificate can all still stand between a completed course and a first paycheck. Interstate driving requires you to be 21, and non-excepted driving requires a medical examiner’s certificate. A self-funded school route pays you nothing until a carrier hires you. And training a carrier pays for may carry a work commitment, which is a repayment risk to read in the agreement rather than a detail to find out later.

If that trade is worth examining, compare CDL training near you — free, and no obligation. If it is not, the rest of this page is about the alternatives, and nothing here needs you to choose driving.

Verified Texas Programs That Pay

This is the part of the page that answers the question in its title, so it comes first. Every record below was read off the program’s or agency’s own published page on 11 September 2026. Nothing comes from a job board, an aggregator or a news article. Where a page states no pay figure, that is recorded as “no training wage stated” rather than as “unpaid” — silence on a provider page is not evidence.

↔ Scroll table sideways to see all columns

Texas-located programs whose own pages identify a paid training phase. Of the six programs, three state in their own words that the trainee is an employee. Another three do not use that word but publish terms that only apply to an employee — a full-time classification, enumerated benefits, or a wage for the training period. No page in this set is described as employing a trainee on evidence weaker than that. Pay, cost, eligibility, commitments and cautions are in the cards below, each with the source page it came from and the date it was checked.
Program and place Occupation Published pay Status at 11 September 2026
University of Texas System Police Academy — Police Cadet
Austin
Police officer No training wage stated on the cited page. Open postings only. The department states it accepts applications “only for positions that are currently open” and publishes no class date.
Austin Police Department — Police Cadet
Austin
Police officer APD publishes two different academy figures on the same page and does not reconcile them. Its pay-progression table shows $67,000/year rate for “During academy (approximately 8 months)”. Its rank table shows Cadet — $60,000/year rate during Academy. Both describe the academy period. The same page shows $78,627/year at graduation. Confirm the current cadet rate with APD before relying on either figure. Open when last read. The careers page showed “Open (Apply now!)” with an application deadline of 16 September 2026 for an academy starting 11 January 2027, and stated “No experience required.” Read on 16 September 2026. An application deadline is the one thing on this card that can change between that date and the day you read it, so check the careers page for the current window before planning around it.
Houston Fire Department — Firefighter/EMT Trainee
Houston
Firefighter / EMT Two City of Houston sources give different annual figures for the same job and neither reconciles them. HFD’s own compensation schedule, headed “Salary is based on 26 equal pay periods: Beginning 07/8/2023”, lists Firefighter Trainee at $1,438.00 bi-weekly and $37,388 annually [www.houstontx.gov, read 13 September 2026]. The currently open civil service posting for non-certified Fire Fighter / EMT Trainee, job number 36698, lists $36,114.00 annually [www.governmentjobs.com, read 13 September 2026]. The gap between them is $1,274. Post-academy probationary pay on the same schedule is $2,084.89 bi-weekly, $54,207 annually. Which of the two trainee figures applies to a new hire is unresolved by the publisher, and this page does not choose between them. Confirm the applicable offer rate with HFD. Open at the check date. The City of Houston civil service posting for non-certified Fire Fighter / EMT Trainee is live, opened 2 July 2025 with a closing date of 1 June 2027, and states that “on-line applications will be accepted until all testing slots are filled” — so it can close earlier than that date. Two published exam dates remain, 15 January 2027 and 11 June 2027. Testing is by invitation only.
ABC Central Texas — Registered Apprenticeship
Austin and Waco
Carpentry, concrete, electrical, HVAC, pipefitting, plumbing or sheet metal No training wage stated on the cited page. Application intake link live; no class dates or deadlines published, so status is not stated.
St. David’s HealthCare — Nurse Residency Program
Austin metro
Registered nurse, new graduate No training wage stated on the cited page. Rolling cohorts. Applications for January–April starts open in September, May–August starts in February, September–November starts in May.
North Texas Electrical JATC / IBEW Local 20 — Electrical Apprenticeship
Grand Prairie, serving Dallas–Fort Worth
Inside wireman / journeyman electrician IBEW Local 20 states: “Apprentices start at $20.33/hour, plus an additional $2.91/hour contributed into Insurance & Retirement.” The training center’s own applicant-information page words it differently and does not give the second figure: “Starting salary is $20.33 an hour, with increment raises throughout the program, plus fringe benefits.” Both are printed; neither is chosen. Applications open; no window dates published, so status is not dated.

6 programs are published here because the program's own page supports employee status, a paid phase, and a Texas location. Programs checked and not published, with the reason in each case, are listed below. Nothing here was taken from a job board, an aggregator or a news article.

Austin

University of Texas System Police Academy — Police Cadet

Occupation. Police officer

Status at 11 September 2026. Open postings only. The department states it accepts applications “only for positions that are currently open” and publishes no class date.

Employee from the start? Yes. UTPD states: “Cadets are employed and paid while attending the academy.”

Paid phase. The 28-week academy.

Published pay. No training wage stated on the cited page.

Classroom or related instruction. Covered by the same statement; no separate classroom-pay wording.

Cost to the trainee. No tuition or deduction stated.

Eligibility. High school diploma or GED; 21 at commission; U.S. citizen; no felony convictions; no DWI or Class B misdemeanor within 10 years; acceptable driving record; physical fitness test, medical exam; vision correctable to 20/30.

Commitment or repayment. Not stated.

Training location. University of Texas System Police Academy, Austin

Caution. No live class date appears on the cadet or careers page, so treat this as “check current openings” rather than an open intake.

Source for every field above that is not separately cited. police.utexas.edu, checked 11 September 2026.

Austin

Austin Police Department — Police Cadet

Occupation. Police officer

Status at 16 September 2026. Open when last read. The careers page showed “Open (Apply now!)” with an application deadline of 16 September 2026 for an academy starting 11 January 2027, and stated “No experience required.” Read on 16 September 2026. An application deadline is the one thing on this card that can change between that date and the day you read it, so check the careers page for the current window before planning around it. [www.austintexas.gov]

Employee from the start? Not stated in those words. The pages use “cadet” and “police officer candidates” without stating an employment classification, though APD does state that “health, dental and retirement benefits will begin on day one of the police academy”, which implies employment without declaring it. [www.austintexas.gov]

Paid phase. The academy. APD’s FAQ states “you are paid a salary while attending the Academy.”

Published pay. APD publishes two different academy figures on the same page and does not reconcile them. Its pay-progression table shows $67,000/year rate for “During academy (approximately 8 months)”. Its rank table shows Cadet — $60,000/year rate during Academy. Both describe the academy period. The same page shows $78,627/year at graduation. Confirm the current cadet rate with APD before relying on either figure. [www.austintexas.gov]

Classroom or related instruction. Included in the academy salary. APD states the regular academy is about 32 weeks and delivers 1,280 hours of instruction. [www.austintexas.gov]

Cost to the trainee. APD states uniforms and equipment are paid for by the department. Whether any tuition, fee or repayment obligation applies is not stated on the cited pages — not stated as absent, simply not addressed. Ask APD directly. [www.austintexas.gov]

Eligibility. The careers page links to minimum requirements rather than printing them. [www.austintexas.gov]

Commitment or repayment. Not stated.

Training location. Academy in south-east Austin, near Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. APD publishes two different figures for how often it runs: its Academy page says “2-3 academy classes per year”, and its FAQ says “Varies. The number of academy classes held each year depends on how many vacancies the department needs to fill. Typically we hold between 1-3 classes per year.” Both are printed; neither is chosen. [www.austintexas.gov]

Caution. APD publishes the academy length two ways on its own pages — “approximately eight months” and “approximately 32 weeks” — and those agree with each other, since 32 weeks is about seven and a half months. The figures that do not agree are the two academy pay rates above, and those are the ones to confirm with APD.

Source for every field above that is not separately cited. www.austintexas.gov, checked 11 September 2026.

Houston

Houston Fire Department — Firefighter/EMT Trainee

Occupation. Firefighter / EMT

Status at 13 September 2026. Open at the check date. The City of Houston civil service posting for non-certified Fire Fighter / EMT Trainee is live, opened 2 July 2025 with a closing date of 1 June 2027, and states that “on-line applications will be accepted until all testing slots are filled” — so it can close earlier than that date. Two published exam dates remain, 15 January 2027 and 11 June 2027. Testing is by invitation only. [www.governmentjobs.com]

Employee from the start? Yes. The civil service posting classifies the job type as “Full Time”, lists retirement pension, a 457 plan, vacation, city holidays, sick leave and medical, dental, vision, life and disability coverage, and is issued under the Fire Fighters’ and Police Officers’ Civil Service Commission. The academy period itself is described as paid. [www.governmentjobs.com]

Paid phase. The academy. HFD’s FAQ answers “Is the training paid and will the salary increase after training?” with “Yes”.

Published pay. Two City of Houston sources give different annual figures for the same job and neither reconciles them. HFD’s own compensation schedule, headed “Salary is based on 26 equal pay periods: Beginning 07/8/2023”, lists Firefighter Trainee at $1,438.00 bi-weekly and $37,388 annually [www.houstontx.gov, read 13 September 2026]. The currently open civil service posting for non-certified Fire Fighter / EMT Trainee, job number 36698, lists $36,114.00 annually [www.governmentjobs.com, read 13 September 2026]. The gap between them is $1,274. Post-academy probationary pay on the same schedule is $2,084.89 bi-weekly, $54,207 annually. Which of the two trainee figures applies to a new hire is unresolved by the publisher, and this page does not choose between them. Confirm the applicable offer rate with HFD.

Classroom or related instruction. Academy is paid; no separate classroom statement.

Cost to the trainee. Not stated. EMT certification is required before graduation.

Eligibility. Per Tex. Loc. Gov’t Code Ch. 143.023, quoted on the posting: you may not take the entrance examination unless you are at least 18 and not yet 36, and you may not be certified as eligible if you are 36 or older. Also 15 accredited college credit hours or two years of full-time active military service with an honorable discharge, which must be met by the exam date; two or fewer moving violations in 36 months; and no Class A or felony conviction, court-ordered supervision or probation. The posting lists the remaining phases separately: physical ability test, interview, background, psychological exam, immunizations, drug screen and medical examination. [www.governmentjobs.com]

Commitment or repayment. Not stated on any HFD career page.

Training location. Val Jahnke Training Facility, 8030 Braniff, Houston, Texas 77061. HFD states the academy lasts approximately seven to nine months and that length may vary. [www.governmentjobs.com]

Caution. The pay schedule carries a 07/08/2023 effective date while the same site advertises a January 2027 exam, so the figures above may be superseded. Confirm with HFD.

Source for every field above that is not separately cited. www.houstontx.gov, checked 11 September 2026.

Austin and Waco

ABC Central Texas — Registered Apprenticeship

Occupation. Carpentry, concrete, electrical, HVAC, pipefitting, plumbing or sheet metal

Status at 11 September 2026. Application intake link live; no class dates or deadlines published, so status is not stated.

Employee from the start? Yes. ABC states: “Apprentices are employed from day one and earn a wage as they acquire skills on real job sites.”

Paid phase. On-the-job work from day one.

Published pay. No training wage stated on the cited page. The wage figures on the program page are labeled mean hourly and mean annual wages for the occupation, not apprentice starting pay, and are not reproduced here as apprentice wages.

Classroom or related instruction. Not stated.

Cost to the trainee. Not quantified. The page says only that apprenticeship offers a career path with “minimal personal cost” compared with college.

Eligibility. High school diploma or GED referenced; nothing further specified.

Commitment or repayment. Not stated. Program length is two years for concrete, four years for the others.

Training location. Training in Austin and Waco

Caution. The wage table on ABC’s page is mean occupational pay, not apprentice pay. Anyone reading it as a starting wage would be misled.

Source for every field above that is not separately cited. abccentraltexas.org, checked 11 September 2026.

Austin metro

St. David’s HealthCare — Nurse Residency Program

Occupation. Registered nurse, new graduate

Status at 11 September 2026. Rolling cohorts. Applications for January–April starts open in September, May–August starts in February, September–November starts in May.

Employee from the start? Yes. The program states: “Compensation starts on your first day of employment.”

Paid phase. The full 12-month residency, described as “a paid training program”.

Published pay. No training wage stated on the cited page.

Classroom or related instruction. The residency is described as a paid training program and compensation is stated to start on the first day of employment. The page does not separately address whether every classroom hour is paid.

Cost to the trainee. Not stated.

Eligibility. BSN or ADN from an accredited program; students graduating within six months or graduates with 12 months or less experience; 18 or over; eligible to work in the USA; under one year of acute-care experience at hire; current AHA BLS. Texas RN licensure recommended before starting.

Commitment or repayment. Not stated on the cited page.

Training location. Heart Hospital of Austin and the St. David’s Medical Center, North Austin, South Austin, Round Rock, Georgetown and Surgical hospitals

Caution. Requires a nursing degree. It qualifies as a no-four-year-degree route because associate-degree graduates are eligible, but it is not an entry-from-zero path.

Source for every field above that is not separately cited. careers.hcahealthcare.com, checked 11 September 2026.

Grand Prairie, serving Dallas–Fort Worth

North Texas Electrical JATC / IBEW Local 20 — Electrical Apprenticeship

Occupation. Inside wireman / journeyman electrician

Status at 13 September 2026. Applications open; no window dates published, so status is not dated.

Employee from the start? Yes, paid work is part of the model: “Get classroom instruction combined with paid on-the-job training.” [www.ibew20.org]

Paid phase. On-the-job training, which begins when the apprentice is placed with a member contractor rather than on selection into the program.

Published pay. IBEW Local 20 states: “Apprentices start at $20.33/hour, plus an additional $2.91/hour contributed into Insurance & Retirement.” The training center’s own applicant-information page words it differently and does not give the second figure: “Starting salary is $20.33 an hour, with increment raises throughout the program, plus fringe benefits.” Both are printed; neither is chosen. [www.ibew20.org]

Classroom or related instruction. Not stated separately. The wording pairs “classroom instruction” with “paid on-the-job training”, which does not establish that classroom hours are paid. [www.ibew20.org]

Cost to the trainee. Quantified on the applicant-information page: tuition is $316.00 per semester (higher out of state), and the program states a total of approximately $7,200 over four years. Apprentices buy their own books and pay tuition at the start of each semester. A $20.00 application fee applies, credited to accepted apprentices who complete the math refresher and register for first year, first semester. So this is a paid job that also charges the apprentice tuition — both at once.

Eligibility. Published in full: at least 18 years of age; high school graduate, GED, or a two-year associate degree or higher; one year of high school algebra with passing grades; a driver license without restriction B; must obtain a Texas Electrical Apprentice License; and a score of 5 or higher on the NJATC aptitude test.

Commitment or repayment. Structure is published: four years, 8,000 hours of on-the-job training, and 180 hours of related classroom instruction each year plus an eight-week maths refresher. No repayment obligation is stated.

Training location. IBEW-NECA Training Center, 680 West Tarrant Rd, Grand Prairie, TX 75050

Caution. The two published cost figures do not reconcile. Eight semesters at $316 is $2,528, and the page also describes annual book and course fees, so the components add to roughly $8,500 rather than the “approximately $7,200 over four years” the same page states. Both figures are the JATC’s own; this page prints them and does not reconcile them. Ask the JATC for a written all-in figure before enrolling.

Source for every field above that is not separately cited. ntejatc.org, checked 11 September 2026.

Checked, and deliberately not listed

A negative is only useful if it is reproducible, so here is what was checked and why each one did not make the table. In no case does this mean the program is bad or unpaid — it means its own pages do not support the claim this table makes.

  • Austin Electrical Training Alliance / IBEW 520, Austin. Employment supported, but the application window had closed at the check date, no apprentice wage is published, and the tuition page returns 404.
  • IEC of Texas, nine Texas chapters. Apprentices pay $1,000–$1,500 a year in tuition plus a $300–$500 book package and a $50 application fee, and the applicant must arrange employment with a member contractor. The wage data on the page is dated 2014.
  • San Antonio Fire Department Fire Cadet. A cadet rate of $3,459.84 a month is published, but the page does not state employee status, does not identify the academy as the paid phase, and carries no effective date.
  • Dallas Fire-Rescue. “Paid Academy” is listed as a benefit, but the only dollar figure on the page is the post-academy officer rate of $75,397, not a cadet rate.
  • Dallas Police Department. Academy pay is not stated on the department’s own pages, and the city’s uniformed police salary schedule contains no trainee or cadet classification.
  • Austin Energy Lineworker Program. One sentence on a careers page directing enquiries to an email address. No program page, no pay, no status. The only substantive content on the domain is news releases from 2022 and 2024.
  • San Antonio Water System and CPS Energy. Neither career page references an apprenticeship, apprentice position or paid trainee role.
  • San Antonio Police Department cadet. The recruiting and pay-scale pages are disallowed by the site’s robots file, so nothing could be verified.

The Four Things “Paid Training” Can Mean

A recruiter, a school and a workforce office can all use the phrase and mean completely different things. Sorted by what reaches your bank account:

Money to you 1. Wages while you learn

You are hired as an employee and paid for the hours you work while still being trained. Registered apprenticeships, trade helper roles and agency cadet posts work this way. This is the flow that puts a paycheck with your name on it into your account, and it is the one the six records above are selected for.

Cost covered 2. Tuition or benefits paid — but no wages

Someone else pays the school, and nobody pays you for your time. This covers employer-funded certificate programs, workforce-funded classroom training, and the carrier CDL programs that sponsor training without hiring you first.

Money to you 3. A payment to you that is not a wage

Money can reach you without being pay for hours worked. Under WIOA, a participant in certain training can receive needs-related payments, and supportive services such as transportation or childcare assistance exist separately from them. The GI Bill pays a housing allowance and a books stipend to the student rather than to the school. None of these is a wage: they are not pay for hours, they do not make you an employee, and each has its own eligibility rules. But a reader asking “can I cover rent during these weeks?” needs them counted.

Money back later 4. Reimbursed or assisted afterward

You or your employer pay first, and some or all comes back later — sometimes as a direct payment to the school, sometimes as a reimbursement at a milestone. Terms are plan-specific. The mechanisms are compared on our training funding page.

The Question That Cuts Through It

Ask any program two sentences. “During the weeks I am training, does a paycheck arrive with my name on it, and how much is it?” Then, if the answer is no: “Is there any payment to me that is not a wage — a needs-related payment, a stipend, an allowance — and what do I have to qualify for it?” If both answers are about tuition, grants to the school or reimbursement afterward, you need a plan for those weeks.

Texas Routes Compared

The table below covers career routes where training happens on an employer’s clock or an employer’s dime.

↔ Scroll table sideways to see all columns

A wage during training is a property of the route, not the occupation: an HVAC apprenticeship pays and an HVAC certificate course does not, and both lead to the same job title. Each row is a route. Texas median wages are BLS OEWS estimates for May 2025 and describe workers represented in that survey at every level of experience, not starting pay.
Route Paid a wage during training? Texas median Main catch
Registered electrician apprenticeship
SOC 47-2111
Yes, for on-the-job learning hours — a registered program must pay a progressive wage schedule for those hours $58,570 You have to be hired into one. Texas journeyman licensure needs 8,000 hours under a licensed master electrician, and even that license is not independent authority
Registered plumbing apprenticeship
SOC 47-2152
Yes, for on-the-job learning hours in a registered program $59,840 You have to be hired, and register with the state board before hours count at all. This is the plumbing pathway; pipefitting and steamfitting work in the same combined occupation is not governed the same way
HVAC: paid helper, trainee or apprentice job
SOC 49-9021
Yes, if hired into one. A stand-alone HVAC school course does not pay you a wage $57,760 The wage comes from the job, so everything depends on being hired. Refrigerant-circuit work needs EPA certification or the registered-apprentice supervised exception
HVAC: tuition-charging certificate program
SOC 49-9021
No — you pay the school and nobody pays you for the hours $57,760 It may shorten the route to a job, but it does not replace an income while you study
Utility line work: employer training program
SOC 49-9051
Yes, if hired into one as an employee $78,940 Highest pay here; physical screening, work at height on high-voltage systems, storm-response travel
Construction equipment: registered apprenticeship
SOC 47-2073
Yes for on-the-job learning hours, in a registered program $50,460 Weather-dependent work. A short college operator course is a different thing and is not paid
Peace officer: agency-employed or sponsored cadet
SOC 33-3051
Depends on the agency. State rules set the training standard, not the pay $75,900 Employment, sponsorship, enrollment, appointment and licensure are five different things. Two named Texas examples are in the table below
Firefighter/EMT trainee
SOC 33-2011
Depends on the department. One named Texas example below publishes a trainee rate not shown here Civil service testing windows control entry, and they are not always open
Registered nurse: paid nurse residency
SOC 29-1141
Yes, where offered — one named Texas example below states compensation starts on the first day of employment not shown here Requires a nursing degree already. An associate degree qualifies, so it is a no-four-year-degree route but not an entry-from-zero one
Truck driver: carrier-employed CDL training
SOC 53-3032
Varies by carrier. Some hire and pay from day one; some cover tuition only; some reimburse after hire $56,290 A sponsored program may carry a work commitment, and some or all of the cost may become repayable if you leave early — read the specific terms. The one carrier verified here trains outside Texas
Diesel: paid entry technician or trainee job
SOC 49-3031
Yes, if hired into one. A stand-alone diesel school course does not pay you a wage $58,810 Reaching full competency takes years; tool costs can be significant

Wages: BLS OEWS state estimates, May 2025, Texas rows. Figures describe workers represented in the OEWS survey — covered wage-and-salary employment. OEWS excludes the self-employed, owners and partners in unincorporated firms, household workers and unpaid family workers, so it is not a count of everyone doing that work. Entry education, related experience and on-the-job training: BLS Employment Projections Table 5.4, with occupation profiles for electricians, plumbers, pipefitters and steamfitters, HVACR mechanics and installers, electrical power-line installers and repairers, construction equipment operators, diesel service technicians and mechanics, police and detectives and heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers. Apprenticeship wage rule: 29 CFR 29.5. Texas licensing: TDLR and TSBPE. For scale, the median across all Texas occupations is $48,620. Sources last checked 11 September 2026.

Two things that table is deliberately careful about. First, every “yes” is conditional on being hired — none of these routes pays a person who has not been taken on as an employee. Second, the occupation-level durations BLS publishes are national figures, not Texas ones, and the named Texas examples below are a different kind of evidence entirely.

Registered Apprenticeship: What The Wage Rule Actually Covers

If your problem is “I cannot afford to stop earning,” a Registered Apprenticeship is the strongest structural answer on this page — stronger, on that one measure, than the CDL path this site specializes in. But the rule is narrower than it is usually described, so here it is at its actual width.

A Registered Apprenticeship is an employment relationship, and 29 CFR 29.5 requires a progressively increasing schedule of wages for the apprentice’s on-the-job learning, starting at no less than the applicable minimum wage. It does not require related classroom instruction to be paid, and it does not stop a sponsor charging for tuition, books, tools, travel, testing fees or dues. Those are sponsor-by-sponsor questions.

A Texas state apprentice registration — the electrical apprentice license, for instance — is permission to work under supervision. It is not itself a Registered Apprenticeship and carries no federal wage schedule. Ask which one you are being offered, by name.

The trade-off is time. A time-based Registered Apprenticeship requires at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job learning, with a recommended minimum of 144 hours of related technical instruction a year, and the Texas trades typically run three to five years. Texas licensing then has its own hour counts: 8,000 supervised hours for a journeyman electrician license, and for plumbing a ladder from 4,000 hours plus a 24-hour course to 8,000 hours plus a 48-hour course.

These hours are the eligibility requirement for sitting the journeyman plumber examination, not for working — an apprentice registration is what permits the work. The ordinary route is §363.5(a)–(b): 48 hours of approved classroom training, plus 8,000 hours of experience at the trade under a Responsible Master Plumber, plus a current apprentice registration or Tradesman Plumber-Limited license. A training program approved by the U.S. Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship substitutes for the 48-hour course on the Board’s public page. Separately, §363.5(c) provides that on written request the Board may credit up to 1,000 hours of the required work experience for completed classroom training — a discretionary partial offset that can never take 8,000 below 7,000. Hours worked before apprentice registration do not count at all.

Board rule §363.5(d) provides that a registered Plumber’s Apprentice “may apply for and take the Journeyman Plumber examination” if the apprentice holds an associate of applied science degree from a plumbing-technology program that combines classroom and on-the-job training and is approved by the Board and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Read it precisely: it grants examination eligibility, it requires the degree and current apprentice registration, and it is not a statement that the degree alone qualifies anyone for the license. This route appears in the Board’s rules, not on its public journeyman page.

On how the clocks relate: the same supervised hour can generally count toward both the apprenticeship term and the state licensing requirement, so the licensing hours are parallel to the apprenticeship rather than stacked on top of it. They are not automatically parallel — crediting depends on registration, supervision and sign-off — so ask the sponsor, in writing, how your hours will be credited to each.

The Honest Comparison

An apprenticeship puts a beginner on payroll immediately, but at apprentice wages — typically below journey-level pay — for years before the license. A CDL can make a qualified applicant eligible for entry-level driving work after a comparatively short licensing process, but a new CDL does not put a driver at the occupational median either. Neither path is better in the abstract. They answer different constraints: “I need income during training” versus “I need to be employable quickly.”

Employer Trainee And Helper Roles

Outside formal apprenticeship, the licensed trades also hire people into paid helper and trainee roles, and this is a genuinely underrated route. Texas HVAC is the clearest example, and the credential ladder is worth getting right.

Certification is triggered by work that “could be reasonably expected to violate the integrity of the refrigerant circuit” — which includes attaching gauges to measure pressure, and adding or removing refrigerant. It is narrower and more specific than “opening an appliance” (40 CFR 82.161(a)).

There is a limited apprentice exception: 40 CFR 82.161(a) exempts apprentices provided the apprentice is “closely and continually supervised by a certified technician” holding the right certification for the appliance being serviced. The exception depends on being currently registered as an apprentice with the U.S. Department of Labor’s Office of Apprenticeship (or a recognized State Apprenticeship Council), and a person may only be an apprentice for two years from first registering — that definition and time limit are at 40 CFR 82.152, not in the exception itself. A job title such as “helper” or “trainee” creates no exception on its own.

Separately, a Texas ACR technician registration is what permits covered technician work in the field. The 48 months of practical experience under a licensed air conditioning and refrigeration contractor — or 36 months with a qualifying technician certification held for at least a year — is the requirement for the later contractor license, and TDLR also recognizes education, engineering, military and industrial routes, so those months are the standard paths rather than an exhaustive list.

One caution about how that requirement is usually described. TDLR requires the experience to be gained under the supervision of a licensed contractor. It does not state that the months must be paid employment, so an experience requirement is not by itself evidence that the time carries a wage. Paid supervised employment is one way to accrue qualifying experience; the wage comes from the job, not from the licensing rule.

What to check before treating one of these as “paid training”:

  • Are you hired as an employee, with a stated hourly rate, from your first week?
  • Does the supervising license-holder actually sign off on your experience hours? In Texas trades, an unsigned year of work can fail to count toward licensure.
  • Is any classroom or certification cost deducted from your pay, or repayable if you leave?
  • Is there a written path from helper to licensed technician, or is it left vague?

Agency Cadet Posts: Five Things People Run Together

Law enforcement and fire service are frequently cited as paid-training careers. For some recruits at some agencies they are. But five distinct things get collapsed into one, and separating them is what lets you ask a useful question:

  • Employment by an agency — you are on payroll.
  • Sponsorship by an agency — it funds or arranges your seat, which is not the same as employing you.
  • Enrolment in an academy — you are a student.
  • Appointment as a peace officer — a legal status.
  • Licensure — the state credential.

In Texas, the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement sets the training and licensing standards for peace officers. It does not set recruit pay, and it does not determine who funds an academy seat. Its guidance notes that individuals not appointed with a department must go through one of its training providers, which establishes that the training route differs by appointment status — not who pays.

So the accurate statement is: whether a Texas cadet is paid, and who pays for the seat, is set agency by agency. Ask the specific department, in writing, about both — a recruit can be paid a wage, have a seat funded, both, or neither. Two named Texas examples where the agency’s own page states the academy is paid are in the verified table above.

For scale, police and sheriff’s patrol officers (SOC 33-3051) had a Texas median wage of $75,900 in May 2025. BLS lists the typical entry education as a high school diploma or equivalent and typical work experience in a related occupation as None — a national classification of the occupation, not any one department’s hiring standards. Many Texas agencies apply additional requirements.

Where CDL Truck Driving Fits

This site is about CDL training, so here is the version without the sales pitch.

Commercial truck driving is not the best route on this page if your single hardest constraint is being paid during the training weeks themselves. A Registered Apprenticeship beats it on that measure, and so does an agency cadet post where the agency employs you. Trucking’s real advantages are speed of qualification and breadth of the job base.

No minimum
Federal entry-level driver training rules set no minimum behind-the-wheel hours, so course length is a provider decision
$56,290
Texas median wage, heavy & tractor-trailer drivers, May 2025 — workers represented in the OEWS survey, not starting pay
209,680
Estimated jobs located in Texas in the occupation — a count of jobs, not openings, and not residents
What was checked about carriers, exactly

A claim that “no carrier does X” is worthless without a universe, so here is the universe. Carriers checked: Roehl Transport. Pages read: www.roehl.jobs/... · www.roehl.jobs/... · www.roehl.jobs/.... Date: 11 September 2026. “Trains in Texas” means a training site physically located in Texas, as named on the carrier's own pages. “Paid classroom and range phase” means wages paid to the trainee during the classroom and range phase, stated on the carrier's own pages.

Finding. Roehl states trainees are paid from day one but lists its training sites near terminals in Phoenix, Arizona; Atlanta, Georgia; Chicago and north-west Indiana; and Appleton and Marshfield, Wisconsin. It operates a Dallas-area terminal in Grand Prairie, Texas, but names no Texas training site.

So the honest statement is narrow: the named carrier examples reviewed here did not include one that both conducts its training in Texas and states that wages are paid during the classroom and range phase. That is a fact about a one-carrier sample, not about the industry, and it should not be read as one.

A conflict in the source, left visible

Roehl attaches its training to 120,000 solo miles of solo driving, and publishes two different conversions of that figure: about 15 months (page dated 25 June 2026 by Roehl) and about 18 months (page dated 7 April 2026 by Roehl).

Roehl currently publishes both conversions of the same 120,000-mile figure. The mileage is the concrete term; the month estimate is Roehl’s own approximation and the two pages disagree. The signed agreement controls, so confirm the current terms directly.

Why it may fit

  • No four-year degree, and no multi-year clock. There is no statewide Texas CDL course length, because no rule sets one: federal entry-level driver training prescribes a curriculum and an instructor proficiency assessment, not hours. Published provider formats are measured in weeks, though they vary and sometimes conflict — see the five-clocks page for the detail. Compare that with 8,000 licensing hours for a journeyman electrician.
  • Carrier programs can remove the tuition barrier, and some pay during training. Terms differ by carrier: some cover tuition only, some hire trainees as paid employees during the licensing process, some reimburse after hire. Which of the three a given carrier does is in its own agreement, and a work commitment may be attached — read the specific offer rather than any general description of carrier programs.
  • The Texas job base is large. BLS estimates 209,680 heavy and tractor-trailer truck driver jobs located in Texas in May 2025 — more than the estimated job counts for electricians, plumbers, HVAC technicians and line workers combined (172,870). That is a count of jobs, not openings, and not a count of residents.

Why it may not fit

  • You may not be on wages during the class-and-range weeks. Some carrier programs pay from day one; others cover tuition only. Until you have the specific terms in writing, budget for those weeks.
  • Sponsored training may come with a contract. A program may attach a work commitment, and some share of the training cost may become repayable if you leave early. Terms differ between carriers, so ask for the specific figure, how it is calculated, and over what period.
  • Travel may be part of it. The one carrier verified here trains outside Texas, so a Texas applicant would travel to train. Ask any carrier which site you would attend.
  • Schedule is employer-specific. A sponsored program may route a new driver into over-the-road work, or may not. If being home every night matters more than starting pay, ask each employer what the actual schedule is.
  • Medical and age gates. Federal rules require a CDL applicant to self-certify into one of four operating categories, and whether a medical examiner’s certificate is required depends on which one. Texas DPS requires the certificate for Category 1, interstate non-excepted and for Category 3, intrastate non-excepted. It is not required for Category 2, interstate excepted, or Category 4, intrastate excepted. A driver hauling ordinary freight across state lines is Category 1 and does need the certificate; someone driving only within Texas in an excepted role may not. Check your own category before assuming either way. Federal rules also require a driver to be at least 21 for interstate operation; Texas may issue a CDL at 18 for intrastate operation.
See if CDL fits your goals A straight look at the costs, the commitment and who this career actually suits — before you talk to any school.
Is CDL Training Worth It?

How To Find Paid Training Jobs In Texas

Knowing which routes pay is only useful if you can find the openings. These are the official front doors:

  • Registered apprenticeships. The federal Apprenticeship Job Finder searches live openings by occupation and location, and TWC apprenticeship guidance covers the Texas programs.
  • Paid trainee and helper openings. Use TWC job-search resources and search the terms employers actually post, not the ones articles use: electrician apprentice, HVAC helper, police cadet, firefighter trainee, diesel technician trainee, CDL student driver, lineman groundman.
  • Agency career pages directly. Cadet and trainee intakes run on testing windows rather than continuously, so the agency’s own careers page is the only reliable place to see whether one is open.
  • Local help. Your Workforce Solutions office can tell you which local employers currently hire and train from zero — something no national list can.

What to confirm before you accept

Whatever the route, get these in writing. Every one of them has caught someone out:

  • The date employee status begins — not the date training begins.
  • The wage or stipend, and whether classroom hours are paid at the same rate as field hours.
  • Benefits, and when they start.
  • Deductions — tools, equipment, certification fees, lodging, travel.
  • The commitment — how long, and to what work.
  • The repayment terms — what triggers them, how they are calculated, over what period.
  • What happens if you fail a test, get sick, or are injured during training.

Method And Sources

Three source classes, labeled

Three different classes of source appear on this page, and they carry different weight. Saying “every wage comes from a government source” would be false: the occupational wage figures do, but the program pay — what a cadet, apprentice or trainee is actually paid — comes from the employer’s or union’s own page, which is a first-party statement that can change without notice and can contradict itself. Each class is labeled wherever it is used:

How a program qualified for the verified table. Three tests, all from the program’s own page: it states or clearly implies employee status; it identifies a paid phase; and the training is located in Texas. Programs failing any test are listed with the reason. A page that simply does not mention pay is recorded as “no training wage stated”, never as “unpaid”.

What this page deliberately does not do. It does not add up search-volume estimates to claim demand, does not use job-board salary estimates as wage evidence, does not state that a route pays wages unless a primary source says so, and does not convert one employer’s terms into a statement about employers in general. Where something varies employer by employer — cadet pay and carrier sponsorship terms are the clearest cases — it says so instead of estimating.

Sources last checked 11 September 2026. This page has not been reviewed by a named subject-matter expert.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Texas jobs actually pay you a wage while you are still training?

By structure, the ones where you are an employee. A Registered Apprenticeship is the strongest case, because 29 CFR 29.5 requires a progressively increasing wage schedule for the apprentice's on-the-job learning, starting at no less than the applicable minimum wage. An employer trainee or helper job pays for a simpler reason: it is a job. An agency-employed cadet post pays where that agency employs rather than merely sponsors the recruit.

Six Texas programs were verified for this page, whose own pages identify a paid training phase: two Austin police cadet routes, a Houston firefighter/EMT trainee post, a Central Texas registered apprenticeship across seven trades, an Austin-area nurse residency, and a Dallas–Fort Worth electrical apprenticeship publishing a $20.33 hourly starting wage. Each is listed above with its status and terms.

Note the boundary on the federal rule: it covers on-the-job learning hours. Whether classroom hours are paid, and whether tuition, tools or fees are charged, is set by the individual sponsor.

Does carrier-sponsored CDL training pay you while you are in class?

It depends on the carrier, and that is the thing to check first. Some carriers cover tuition without paying wages during the classroom and range phase. Some hire trainees as employees and pay them through part of the licensing process. Some reimburse tuition after you are hired.

Roehl Transport states trainees are “hired and paid as an employee on day 1” and will “earn $616 when you work a full week” in its first phase. It also attaches the training value to 120,000 solo miles of driving, and publishes two different estimates of how long that takes — about 15 months on its schools page and about 18 months in its FAQ. Its training sites are near terminals in Arizona, Georgia, Indiana and Wisconsin, not in Texas.

Work requirements, repayment, route type, first-paycheck timing and home time are all carrier-specific, and a figure from one carrier tells you nothing about another. Get three things in writing before you sign: when employee status begins, what each phase pays, and exactly what becomes repayable if you leave.

Are Texas police and fire academy recruits paid?

It depends on the agency, not on state rule, and two separate questions hide inside that one: whether the recruit receives a wage, and who funds the academy seat. The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement sets peace officer training and licensing standards but does not set recruit pay or determine seat funding.

Some Texas agencies do state it plainly on their own pages. The University of Texas at Austin Police Department states that “cadets are employed and paid while attending the academy”. Austin Police Department's FAQ states “you are paid a salary while attending the Academy”. Houston Fire Department answers “yes” to whether training is paid, and two City of Houston sources disagree on the annual figure: its compensation schedule, effective 2023, lists Firefighter Trainee at $1,438.00 bi-weekly and $37,388 annually, while the currently open civil service posting lists $36,114.00 annually. Confirm the applicable rate with HFD.

Others could not be verified either way from their own pages, and are listed above with the reason. Ask the specific department in writing about both the wage and the seat.

Is WIOA or workforce funding the same as being paid to train?

It depends which mechanism applies. A WIOA Individual Training Account is a payment agreement established on behalf of a participant with a training provider, so that money goes to the school rather than to you as wages.

WIOA also supports on-the-job training, in which you are hired as an employee, the employer pays your wages, and the employer may be partially reimbursed for training you (20 CFR 680.700). That is a wage. Separate needs-related payments and supportive services exist too and are not automatic. The mechanisms are compared in full on our training funding page; ask your local workforce board which one is on the table.

How long does an apprenticeship take, and what will I earn along the way?

A time-based Registered Apprenticeship requires at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job learning, with a recommended minimum of 144 hours of related technical instruction a year, and the Texas trades typically run three to five years. Texas licensing adds its own hour counts: 8,000 hours under a licensed master electrician for a journeyman electrician license, and for plumbing 4,000 hours plus a 24-hour course for Tradesman Plumber-Limited or 8,000 hours plus a 48-hour course for Journeyman Plumber.

Three precise points on the plumbing route. An approved Department of Labor apprenticeship program substitutes for the course requirement on the Board's public page, not for the hours. Board rule §363.5(c) allows up to 1,000 hours to be credited on written request for completed classroom training, which is discretionary and can never take 8,000 below 7,000. And Board rule §363.5(d) lets a registered Plumber's Apprentice holding an approved associate of applied science plumbing-technology degree apply for and take the Journeyman examination — that is examination eligibility, it requires the degree and current apprentice registration together, and it is not a statement that the degree alone qualifies anyone for the license.

On earnings, no statewide timetable exists. Federal rules require wages to rise as skills are acquired for on-the-job learning hours, but neither BLS nor federal regulation publishes how long a Texas apprentice takes to reach any particular wage. Apprentice pay is typically below journey-level pay. The Dallas–Fort Worth electrical apprenticeship listed above publishes an actual starting figure of $20.33 an hour, which is the kind of number to ask any sponsor for directly.

If I cannot afford any unpaid weeks at all, what should I look at first?

Start with the verified Texas programs above, because each one's own page supports a paid phase, and with Registered Apprenticeship openings in the Texas trades, where the wage for on-the-job learning hours is a regulatory requirement rather than an employer's choice. Both put you on payroll while you learn, provided you are hired — the wage comes from the employment.

Then ask every other option the same question: during the weeks I am training, does a paycheck arrive with my name on it, and how much is it? Carrier CDL programs answer that differently from one another, a WIOA Individual Training Account pays the school rather than you, and WIOA on-the-job training does pay wages. The answer, not the label, is what matters.

Why does this page name so few Texas programs?

Because it only lists programs whose own published pages support the claim. Six met all three tests: employee status, a paid phase, and a Texas location. Eight more were checked and excluded, each with the reason stated — a closed application window, tuition charged to the trainee, a pay figure with no employee-status statement, or pages blocked from automated reading.

A longer list would have been easy to produce and worth less. The intention is that every row here survives a spot check against the source link and date beside it. If you know of a Texas program that meets those tests and is missing, it belongs here.

Wage figures are Texas statewide annual medians from BLS OEWS, May 2025 estimates. Figures describe workers represented in the OEWS survey — covered wage-and-salary employment. OEWS excludes the self-employed, owners and partners in unincorporated firms, household workers and unpaid family workers, so it is not a count of everyone doing that work. They describe the whole occupation, not entry-level pay. Named employer and program details are that organization’s own published statements on the date shown and change without notice — confirm current terms directly before relying on them. License and training requirements change too; confirm current rules with the relevant Texas agency before making a decision. Get CDL Texas is a free matching service, not a CDL school. Sources last checked 11 September 2026; this page has not been reviewed by a named subject-matter expert.

Think Truck Driving Might Fit?

Start with the honest version, then compare Texas training options — free, no obligation.

Compare CDL Training Near You →